Cong, NPP emerge single largest parties in KHADC, JHADC respectively

SHILLONG, Mar 2: The Congress and the National People’s Party (NPP) emerged as the single largest parties in the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) and the Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council (JHADC) elections respectively.

In the KHADC, the Congress won 10, the NPP won seven, the United Democratic Party (UDP) won six, the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) won two the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) won one and independents three seats.

While, in the JHADC, the NPP won 12, the UDP won 10, the Congress four and Independents three seats.

Two sitting legislators Lambor Malgniang (Independent) from Nongkrem and Gigur Myrthong (NPP) from Mawshynrut were also elected as MDCs in KHADC.

In the KHADC, 22 sitting MDCs were rejected and seven managed to retain their seats.

Those who managed to retain their seats are Victor Ranee (NPP) from Jirang, Pyniaid Sing Syiem (NPP) from Sohryngkham, Grace Mary Kharpuri (Congress) from Nongshken, Teinwell Dkhar (UDP) from Shella, Latiplang Kharkongor (Independent) from Nongthymmai, Pynshngain N Syiem (NPP) from Mawkhar-Pynthorumkhrah and Lamphrang Blah (Congress) from Mawphlang-Diengiei.

Three former legislators who lost the Assembly elections last year were elected, Ronnie V Lyngdoh (Congress) from Mylliem, Paul Lyngdoh (UDP) from Jaiaw and Titostarwell Chyne (UDP) from Sohra, as MDCs.

Another veteran regional leader and the oldest candidate to win the district council polls, Martle N Mukhim (HSPDP) from Mawkynrew made a comeback after nearly a decade in the wilderness. He was an MLA as well as MDC.

The heavyweights who lost the KHADC polls include, Chairperson of the KHADC, Teilinia Thangkhiew (PDF) from Mylliem, Neil Antonio War (UDP) from Laitumkhrah-Malki, veteran MDCs, Jansing Tynsong (NPP) Lyngkyrdem-Laitkroh and Goodleaderson Nongsiej (HSPDP) from Nongstoin.

Meanwhile, in the JHADC Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the outgoing House Madonbai Rymbai (NPP) from Sohmynting-Khliehtyrshi, Moonlight Pariat (UDP) from Jowai South another former CEM were the notable losers.

Former legislator Robinus Syngkon of the NPP was elected as MDC from Raliang constituency.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589