NE MPs write to PM on CAB

Shillong, Nov 29: Twelve Member of Parliament from the northeastern states on Friday urged Prime Minister Narendra Modi to exempt the proposed Citizenship Amendment Bill, 2019 from the region.

The MPs belonging to the Congress and from the Northeastern states including Meghalaya in a letter to the Prime Minister voiced their “strong objection” to the passing and implementation of the Bill in the Northeastern region.

The MPs including Mukut Mithi, Pradyut Bordoloi, Gaurav Gogoi Abdul Khaleque , Indra Hang Subba of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, Lorho S. Pfoze and K.G Kenye of Naga People’s Front, C. Lalrosanga of Mizo National Front put their signature in a letterhead of a letter drafted by Vincent H. Pala, MP representing Meghalaya’s Shillong (ST) constituency.

“All premier NGOs of the region are also of the same opinion. We collectively believe if such a bill implemented uniformly across the nation, it will particularly render the indigenous and tribal population of the northeast vulnerable to displacement,” the letter noted.

The Bill is expected to be passed in the ongoing winter session of Parliament.

In the letter they noted, “.. we urge you (Prime Minister) to include within this bill a provision which exempts from its ambit the residents of the north-eastern states of Arunachal, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim.”

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589