South Tura goes for poll tomorrow

Tura, Aug 22: The by election to South Tura Assembly of Meghalaya will be held tomorrow as 30440 voters will be exercising their vote to choose a new leader.

Billed as the ‘Vote to regularize the post of CM’ will see 4 candidates take on the CM in the by-election, a seat that was vacated by his sister, Agatha Sangma, to allow the CM, Conrad Sangma continue as the leader of the MDA.

The by-election thereby assumes immense importance as it will definitely decide the future of the current alliance and its longevity in the state.

The candidates in the fray include the CM, former South Tura MLA, John Leslee K Sangma, Kris Kabul Sangma and the Congress’ Charlotte W Momin.

There are a total of 36 polling stations with 18 of them considered vulnerable. South Tura has a total voter count of 30440, with 14966 being male and 15474 being female voters.

The polling station with the highest number of voters is Matchakolgre with 1337 voters and the least being from Leper Colony – 151. There is one all women polling stations at Upper Babupara (LGB HS School) and 3 model polling stations at Tura Government College (Room No 1 and 2) and the one at Leper Colony.

Voting will start early morning from 7 am and will continue till 5 pm in the evening in all the polling stations.

During the last general elections in Feb 2018, South Tura recorded a total of 73.59 voting, a figure the deputy commissioner of WGH, Ram Singh hopes to better.

“I appeal to all to come forward and cast your vote tomorrow. It is your right as well as a duty. Lets us show the world that we can better what we achieved the last time,” said the DC.


Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589