78.82 percent voters turn out for Williamnagar poll

SHILLONG, Apr 27: Polling to the Willamnagar seat in Meghalaya’s East Garo Hills district recorded 78.82 per cent, polling officials said.

According to Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer, Frederick Roy Kharkongor the percentage of voters who turned up for voting is 78.82 per cent.

Polling in the constituency was held from 7am to 4pm on Friday.

Kharkongor informed that Rongreng Biza recorded the highest voter turn out with 92.5 per cent, while Williamnagar Govt L.P. School, recorded the lowest turn out with just 55.57 per cent.

Williamnagar constituency has 32,345 eligible voters – 16,713 male and 15,632 female voters.

The constituency has 58 polling stations with Balsrigittim polling station in the heart of the town has the highest number of voters- 1273. The lowest number of voters (83) falls in Naregre polling station.

The last assembly election in 2013 saw a voter turnout of 79.24.

As many as 9 candidates will be contesting the poll from Williamnagar constituency. These include — Krenilla Marak of the NCP, Marcuise N Marak from NPP, Deborah C. Marak from the Congress, Mahamsing M. Sangma from UDP, Santosh R. Marak from BJP, Sengbath R Marak, Lahatson N Marak, Siljong R. Marak and Jan N. Arengh as independent candidates.

Counting of votes will take place on May 1.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589