BJP yet to announce candidates for Meghalaya

SHILLONG, Mar 21: Time is running out for the state unit of the BJP, with barely a few days left for filing nominations, the central leadership of the party has not yet announced candidates for the two seats –Shillong and Tura.

On Thursday, evening when the list of candidates for other parts of the country was being announced, the state unit of the party had expected that names of candidates for the two seats will also be announced.

“Time is runing out for us,” a senior leader of the BJP state unit said.

“We had expected the names to be announced today,” the BJP leader added.

It may be mentioned that the last date of filing of nominations for the April ll election will end on March 25.

Meanwhile, another senior functionary of the party said, “Another CEC will meet tomorrow…possibly we will know about Meghalaya also.”

It may be mentioned that several BJP members in Garo Hills resigned from the primary membership recently over delayin announcing a candidate.

Earlier this week Billykid A Sangma and BJP state secretary, Santosh R Marak quit the party.

Party members in Williamnagar, East Garo Hills, including mandal committee president, Kullen Sangma, Mahila Morcha president Serola Sangma and Yuva Morcha president Charles Sangma, resigned following the delay in the announcement of tickets.

According to sources, for the Shillong seat, the state unit of the BJP, has forwarded the names of South Shillong legislator, Sanbor Shullai, Arnes Mawrie, Lakhon Kma and B Paslein.

For the Tura parliamentary seat the party has reportedly shortlisted the names of – Rikman Momin, former minister KC Boro, Digros D Shira and Thomas Marak.

It may be mentioned that during the 2014 election, the present president of the BJP, Shibun Lyngdoh contested from the Shillong seat and polled 95, 979 votes.

For the Shillong parliamentary seat, KHNAM candidate, THS Bonney, United Democratic Party’s, Jemino Mawthoh, who is the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance common candidate and Independent, Samuel Hashah have filed their nomination papers. Congress nominee and sitting MP, Vincent H Pala is likely to file his nomination on Friday.

For the Tura Lok Sabha seat it seems there will be a straight fight between National People’s Party candidate Agatha K Sangma and Congress’ Dr Mukul Sangma.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589