Congress announce candidates for South Tura and Ranikor

SHILLONG, Aug 2: The Congress today declared the candidates for the two assembly constituencies in the state going to by-poll later this month.

The two seats – South Tura and Ranikor will go for by-election on August 23 while the counting of votes will be held on August 27.

For the Ranikor seat, the Congress has named former Garo Student’s Union leader Jackuish K Sangma as party candidate, while retired principal of Tura government public school, Charlotte W Momin will contest the South Tura by-poll against Chief Minister and National People’s Party (NPP) nominee Conrad Kongkal Sangma.

Former, legislator John Leslee Sangma is also expected to join the fray for the South Tura seat.

Meanwhile, in Ranikor the fight for the by-poll is expected to be a four-corner contest.

Apart from Jackuish of the Congress the others are former MLA and NPP nominee Martin M Danggo, Pius Marweiñ of the United Democratic Party’s (UDP) and former Mawsynram legislator, Pynshngaiñ N Syiem.

Both the UDP and the PDF are coalition partners in the ruling – Meghalaya Democratic Alliance led by the NPP.

Meanwhile another partner of the NPP in the ruling coalition, BJP today made it clear that it will not be putting up any candidates for either the South Tura seat or in Ranikor.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589