ECI announces Lok Sabha election dates, Meghalaya on April 11

Shillong, March 10: With the term of the current Lok Sabha expires on June 3, 2019, the Election Commission on Sunday announced the schedule for the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls.

The dates for the Lok Sabha poll was announced by chief election commissioner Sunil Arora and election commissioners Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra at a press conference in Vigyan Bhavan.

For the two parliamentary seats in Meghalaya – Shillong and Tura, the election will be held on April 11.

Along with Meghalaya, six other states including Assam with five seats, Arunachal Pradesh with two seats and one each for Nagaland, Sikkim, Manipur and Mizoram from the North Eastern region will go for poll on the same day.

According to the ECI, counting of LS polls will take place on May 23.

There will be 7 poll days starting from April 11, 18, 23, 29, May 6, 12 and May 19. 7 polls days will cover 543 constituencies and respective Assembly constituencies.

It may be informed that in 2014, general elections were held in nine phases from April 7 to May 12 in 2014.

In the last Lok Sabha elections, the NDA won an impressive 336 seats, with the BJP crossing the halfway mark on its own by winning 282 seats.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589