Four file nominations on last day

SHILLONG, Sept 30: On the final day of filing of nominations for the Shella by-poll four nominations were filed till 2 pm.

The candidates, were Batyngshaiñ Laitmon Ryngnga of the Congress, MDC from Nongshken, Grace Mary Kharpuri as Independent, Mosjo Rockfeller Wanswett of the PDF and Joshua Warjri of the BJP.

The nominations were filed before District Election Officer, L Kynjing in Sohra.

Now, a total number of six candidates including Balajiedkupar Synrem of the United Democratic Party (UDP) and Independent candidate Komen Laitmon have filed their nomination papers for the October 21 by-poll.

According to report, another candidate would be joining the fray – Shembhalang L Khaiñ as Independent.

It may be mentioned in the 2018 general election to the Meghalaya Assembly, Ryngnga of the Congress had contested against late Dr Donkupar Roy securing 4332 votes bagging the third position.

Late Dr Roy who secured 8280 votes won by a margin of only 370 votes against the then PDF, candidate Leston Wanswett elder brother of Mosjo Rockfeller Wanswett.

Shella Constituency has 29,582 voters with 14,844 females and 14698 males.

According to the notification of the Election Commission of India, the last date of filing of nomination papers is September 30.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on October 1 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is October 3.

The counting of votes will be held on October 24.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589