top of page

Five legislators suspension to continue till the end of term: Vincent Pala

Shillong, Nov 14: Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) chief Vincent H Pala on Monday said the five legislators will continue to be under suspension if they don’t reply to the letter issued by the party.

“(The party in) Delhi has suspended them and they are waiting for their reply. We have sent a letter to them and it is for them to reply. If they don’t reply, they will continue to be under suspension till the end of their term,” Pala told reporters.

He said the decision to suspend the five legislators was taken by the All India Congress Committee and not the MPCC. “The AICC as a committee to deal with such issue and they (MLAs) are talking directly to Delhi and this has nothing to do with us as suspension of MLA is not done by MPCC,” he added.

The five MLAs – Ampareen Lyngdoh (East Shillong), Mayralborn Syiem (Nongpoh), PT Sawkmie (Mawlai), Mohendro Rapsang (West Shillong) and Kimfa S Marbaniang (Rambrai-Jyrngam) – were suspended after they extended support to the BJP-backed NPP-led MDA government.

When asked, Pala said he did put effort to meet all the five legislators but later he understand that they already has alternatives and that there is nothing that they can do.

90 views0 comments
bottom of page