Rajya Sabha Elections: Polls to 18 seats on June 19

Shillong, June 1: Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced that election to fill the 18 Rajya Sabha seats in 7 states including Meghalaya will be held on June 19.

According to Election Commission, the polling will be done from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm and counting of votes will be on the same day at 5:00 pm.

The Election Commission has decided to ask Chief Secretaries to depute a senior officer from the state to ensure that the instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are followed.

The elections on these 18 Rajya Sabha seats were to be held in March earlier this year, but were deferred by the ECI in view of the coronavirus outbreak.

The 18 Rajya Sabha seats includes 4 each from Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, two seats from Jharkhand, and 1 seat each from Manipur and Meghalaya.

Elections for these seats will have to be completed by June 22.

The ECI, in an earlier press note, had specified that the list of contesting candidates already published for the Rajya Sabha election by the respective Returning Officers will remain valid for the purpose of remaining activities.

Door Step Delivery Of Medicine

We Advertise


  • Phone
  • Email
  • Address
    Office: Lower Lachumiere Near Pear Tree Guest House
    Shillong, 793001
    For Advertisements
    Call Us Here 98634-49079/7085718589